Matthew 16:13 “When Jesus came to the region of Caesarea Philippi, he asked his disciples, “Who do people say the Son of Man is?””

Personality tests say there are an innumerable different types of people in the world. We have been taught we are so unique there is no one else in the world like us. Which I believe is true, for our God is creative in nature, however, I also believe there are two main categories that people can be put into. Now I know, some are shutting down right now, for they think I am about to box people in, or stereotype them. I am asking that you give me the chance to unfold this thought to you, for in the end, my desire is that you see where I am coming from, not that you agree with me. So, often we think every thing is either right or wrong, when in essence, you can disagree, but still seek to understand. All I am asking for is for you to seek to understand what I am presenting, you do not have to agree.

I believe there are two types of people in the world. People who give and people who take. Now these are elementary, overused terms, but they get my point across, and create a premise for this dialogue. If you ask any Pastor, they will tell you there are people that come to the church for what they can get and there are people who come to church for what they can give. Now, to be honest with you, most Pastors have very few, if any people, who come to give something to the ministry, most are coming because of what they can get from the ministry. After being in the ministry for awhile, they will see how they can serve, but initially it is to see what they can get.

I was speaking to a Pastor friend the other day and he was sharing that I was a breath of fresh air to him, his wife and the ministry, because I actually came with something to give to the Pastor, I did not come for counseling, money, or any other need I had. As I left that place, I began to think of how exhausted Pastors and other people are, because people are so needy. Now, there is nothing wrong with being in need, but there is a syndrome that many people have, which makes them needy. I call it consumerism. They consume everywhere they go. They work for what they can get, they pray for what they can receive, they give in order to be given back to, they love in order to be loved. It is subtle, but it is real, there is a group of people, who are takers. Now, it is not that they do not give, ever, but if we were to strip it all away and see the why behind the what, we would find they are doing it to get something in return. 

The second group of people are the givers, they are the ones who have all their needs met through their relationship with God and go out into the world to distribute the wealth of resources they have been given. These people go into their job, their church, their family, looking for how they can serve, can give, can be a blessing to those they meet. They have a word in season, they have an abundance of love, finances and grace for everyone they meet. These people are unique, because they have what the bible calls a healthy soul. 3 John 2 says, “Beloved, I pray that you may prosper in all things and be in health, just as your soul prospers”. People who have a healthy soul, are those who are able to give on all occasions, they have a vast store of resources that they distribute throughout the day.

I got a phone call this morning from someone who said at the end of the conversation that she knew when she called me that I was a wealth of information. This person knew if she called me I would be able to help her or direct her to someone who could, what a compliment. I have people like this in my life as well, they are distributors of love, grace, truth, finances, resources, information, you just know when you call them they will have what you need or will know where you can get it. The common denominator with all these people, is that they have a healthy soul. When we are healthy, body soul and spirit, we become distributors, rather than consumers.

So, who do people say you are?

