The world in which we live is driven by the need for titles. We believe respect is given because of a title we have; intelligence is identified by our title; authority is known, all because we have a title. We see titles as badges of honor, marks of identity, reasons for respect. Because of this worldly drive, we go into to debt to get an education, to put on a resume, so someone can give us a title. We sacrifice time with our family in pursuit of another title at work, because our identity is tied to our title. Titles were created to describe function, but we have turned them into marks of identity.

Recently I was speaking to a lady that is older than I am and she has been in “ministry” her whole life. She got her doctorate degree in a field that would increase her authority in the ministry she served. She has spent 25 years serving in the church, and now that she has stepped down, or in her words, retired, she does not know who she is. Her identity was in her title, and even through she still carries the PhD. behind her name, she does not know who she is. As we were talking, I said to her, you are going to have to learn how to be a daughter, as the tears flowed, she said, I don’t know how. (Selah)

Last night while I was in worship, the Lord showed me a throne with the words I AM on it. There was no face, figure of person on the throne, just the words I AM sitting on this throne. As I continued to worship, I heard the voice of God said, “when I look on the world, I see people.” Then I saw a brown sandy beach, and the Lord said, “this is what I see, lots and lots of people.” As I pondered the sand, I realized there are so many grains of sand that make up a beach, but there is no grain of sand that is higher than any other, it is just all sand and together they make up the beach.

Church, it is time we lay down our titles, our positions, our jockeying for power, position, prestige. We are all just people. We are sons and daughters of God. We may have different functions in the body, but He is the only head and we all our the body. You are not the head of your church, Christ is the only head of the church. Apostle is a function, not a title, Prophet is a function, Evangelist is a function, we are given functions to help mature the body of Christ, it is not a title. If we could just lay down our need for hierarchy, and pick up our true identity as son, our true identity as daughter, we would find the fruit of the spirit in our churches, cities transformed, and the power of God manifested everywhere we go. But it starts with us realizing in the eyes of God, we are titleless and those who know their God, who have their identity in Him, they don’t need a title, but they do understand their function.

Before you stone me, think for just a minute, when you meet Him face to face, will you introduce your self as Title Name or just by your first Name? Jesus is His name that is above every name, His name is His nature, His function was Christ, Messiah, Savior, He only acknowledged Himself as Son of God or Son of Man, and He was the greatest man that ever has or ever will walk the earth. He said to be great is to serve, to wash other people’s feet, if you know who you are (John 13) and to not get caught up in titles, for that is what the Pharisees did. Is it possible we have missed something and it is costing us our identity? I have the only title I need, daughter of my Father in heaven. #titlelessfreedom

2 Corinthians 5:16-17 “From now on we recognize no one according to the flesh…therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creature, the old things passed away; behold new things have come”.

