Tags

, ,

Have you ever slowed down long enough to analyze why you do what you do in any given situation? Most people are so busy doing whatever they do, they never stop long enough to hear their heart cry out, why are we doing this? The Lord has been speaking to me about doing things from love and how different it feels when I do it from love, rather than for something else. I was in Dallas this weekend and I went to Chuck Pierce’s Global Spheres Center, where I experienced so many things there that produced in me freedom and fire. One of those experiences was standing in line for 15 minutes to give my offering. I have never experienced so much joy, delight and desire to give in my whole life. I waved my offering, danced my way to the front and sang my heart out with over a 1000 other people as we moved toward the front to give our offerings. While I was doing this, the Lord’s still small voice said, this is how you give from love. It was so much fun, so freeing, so God.

Jesus said in Matthew 5:17-20 “Do not think that I have come to abolish the Law or the Prophets; I have not come to abolish them but to fulfill them. I tell you the truth, until heaven and earth disappear, not the smallest letter, not the least stroke of a pen, will by any means disappear from the Law until everything is accomplished. Anyone who breaks one of the least of these commandments and teaches others to do the same will be called least in the kingdom of heaven, but whoever practices and teaches these commands will be called great in the kingdom of heaven. For I tell you that unless your righteousness surpasses that of the Pharisees and the teachers of the law, you will certainly not enter the kingdom of heaven.”

I have spent 25 years as a Christian wondering what is means to have your righteousness pass that of the Scribes and Pharisees, then in one experience, I realized how this happens. Love is what surpasses the righteousness of the Scribes and the Pharisees. You see many people, myself included, do things out of obedience, duty, or an expectation someone has put on us, this is the law. It is not wrong to do it for these reasons. But there is a higher way, there is an easier way, there is a more fun way. It is the way of LOVE. When you do what you do from love, it looks different, for love is an attitude. When you worship, because you love to sing praises to God, it looks different than if you are doing it because it is right. If you love so much, you want to give, it looks different than if you are just squeezing out that 10%. When you say something or do something from love, it looks different, sounds different, comes across different, than if it is from ought to, duty, or have to.

The Bible says in I Corinthians 13:13 says, “And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.”

Love is far more powerful, liberating and enjoyable than the law, no wonder Jesus came to fulfill the law, now we can be lovers. So, why do you do what you do? Love Wins!

