In a world that fights over opinions, doctrines, money, microphones, and any other thing you can think of, I am so thankful that the presence of God is a safe place. The presence of God is truly a strong tower, a refuge place, a selah for the soul, body and spirit. The best thing about the presence of God is that is accessible anywhere you are at anytime you want it, but you must lean it, let your guard down, absorb the atmosphere and let the tears fall. The presence of God is like a rest stop on the highway we call life. My husband says, One touch from heaven changes everything. I would like to add to that, one deep breath in the presence of God recalibrates everything.

I was praying Psalm 87 this morning and it says, “On the holy mount stands the city he founded; the LORD loves the gates of Zion more than all the dwelling places of Jacob. Glorious things of you are spoken, O city of God. Selah And of Zion it shall be said, This one and that one were born in her; for the Most High himself will establish her.” As I leaned into these verses the presence of God wafted into my room, I shut my eyes and tears began to fall not out of sadness, but out of sheer delight that God dwells with humanity and His presence is knowable, feelable.

We are the city of God, the dwelling place of His presence. In His presence all arguments, all defenses, all striving stops. We rest when we He is near, we see clearer when He is near, we love deeper when He is near. As I inhaled His presence this song came out of my mouth…”Your presence is heaven to me!” We have access to heaven on earth, for His presence is dwelling here with us, just lean in, let your guard down, share your heart with Him, there is nothing more satisfying than the presence of God.